Capitalis Nova, roman, capitalis, Versal, Trajan, Pixel, dot, matrix, raster, grid, TypExperiment, bachelor, jakob runge, font, schrift, typeface, typografie, typography, design, gestaltung, visuell, kommunikation, portfolio

Teil der »TypExperimente«

concept

Since 113 A.D. the glyphs of the »Capitalis Monumentalis« boast at the roman Trajan’s Column – then for the emperor expression of his triumph, today for type-design’s history the first Latin alphabet engraved in stone. The letters A, O, Q and V match exactly a quadrat, further glyphs derives from the quadrat right up to the half width of the quadrat.

The »Capitalis Nova« provides every majuscule in two different proportions: lower-case keys are assigned to narrow majuscule, upper-case keys are assigned to wide majuscule.

Hence contemporary announcements lo longer are engraved in stone, but published via social networks like twitter, Facebook or personal blog, the appearance of »Capitalis Nova« is a digital one, too.

characteristics

While usage, the different proportioned glyphs could be mixed manually, even a combination of both variants within the same word is possible:

Proportionen, manuell, proportions, Capitalis Nova, roman, capitalis, Versal, Trajan, Pixel, dot, matrix, raster, grid, TypExperiment, bachelor, jakob runge, font, schrift, typeface, typografie, typography, design, gestaltung, visuell, kommunikation, portfolio

Furthermore by selecting an OpenType-feature (case), the automatic compound of narrow and wide glyphs is possible  – depending of the frequency of the letter used in the applied language, the majuscule are sorted in a balanced relation between narrow and wide glyphs:

OpenType, für Versalsatz, Buchstabenhäufigkeit, ausgeglichen, frequency of letters, for Capitals, Feature, Capitalis Nova, roman, capitalis, Trajan, Pixel, dot, matrix, raster, grid, TypExperiment, bachelor, jakob runge, font, schrift, typeface, typografie, typography, design, gestaltung, visuell, kommunikation, portfolio

Through duplicating and decent shifting of text, further styles could be realized:

Capitalis Nova, roman, capitalis, Versal, Trajan, Pixel, dot, matrix, raster, grid, TypExperiment, bachelor, jakob runge, font, schrift, typeface, typografie, typography, design, gestaltung, visuell, kommunikation, portfolio

TYpOGRApHy, eVeN MOsT pATHeTiC, NeVeR is A MATHeR Of COuRse OR ACCiDeNTAlly. jAN TcHiChOlD

character set

Zeichensatz, Glyph, table, Buchstaben, letters, Capitalis Nova, roman, capitalis, Versal, Trajan, Pixel, dot, matrix, raster, grid, TypExperiment, bachelor, jakob runge, font, schrift, typeface, typografie, typography, design, gestaltung, visuell, kommunikation, portfolio

Information & Download

Comment Capitalis Nova

Capitalis Nova, roman, capitalis, Versal, Trajan, Pixel, dot, matrix, raster, grid, TypExperiment, bachelor, jakob runge, font, schrift, typeface, typografie, typography, design, gestaltung, visuell, kommunikation, portfolio

Teil der »TypExperimente«

Konzept

Seit 113 n. Chr. prangen die Zeichen der »Capitalis Monumentalis« an der römischen Trajansäule – für den damaligen Kaiser Ausdruck seines Sieges, für die Schriftgestaltung das erste in Stein gemeißelte lateinische Alphabet. Die Buchstaben A, O, Q und V entsprechen exakt einem Quadrat, die weiteren Zeichen leiteten sich von diesem ab bis hin zur halben Breite des Quadrats.
Die »Capitalis Nova« bietet jede Versalie in zwei Proportions-Maßen an: Die Tasten der Kleinbuchstaben sind mit den schmalen Zeichen, die Tasten der Großbuchstaben mit breiten, auf der Form des Quadrates basierenden Zeichen belegt.

Da zeitgemäße Bekanntmachungen nicht mehr in Stein gemeißelt, sondern über webbasierende soziale Netzwerke wie twitter, Facebook oder den persönlichen Blog veröffentlicht werden, ist auch die Anmutung der »Capitalis Nova« eine digitale.

Besonderheiten

In der Anwendung können die unterschiedlich proportionierten Zeichen manuell durch Groß-und Kleinschreibung gemischt werden. Auch die Kombination beider Varianten des selben Zeichens innerhalb eines Wortes ist möglich:

Proportionen, manuell, proportions, Capitalis Nova, roman, capitalis, Versal, Trajan, Pixel, dot, matrix, raster, grid, TypExperiment, bachelor, jakob runge, font, schrift, typeface, typografie, typography, design, gestaltung, visuell, kommunikation, portfolio

Zudem kann über die Auswahl eines OpenType-Features (Großbuchstaben / case) die automatische Mischung der breiten und schmalen Zeichen realisiert werden – Je nach der Häufigkeit des Buchstaben in der verwendeten Sprache sortieren sich die Versalien nach einem ausgeglichenen Verhältnis aus breit und schmal:

OpenType, für Versalsatz, Buchstabenhäufigkeit, ausgeglichen, frequency of letters, for Capitals, Feature, Capitalis Nova, roman, capitalis, Trajan, Pixel, dot, matrix, raster, grid, TypExperiment, bachelor, jakob runge, font, schrift, typeface, typografie, typography, design, gestaltung, visuell, kommunikation, portfolio

Durch Dublizieren und leichtes Verschieben des Textes lassen sich weitere Stile realisieren:

Capitalis Nova, roman, capitalis, Versal, Trajan, Pixel, dot, matrix, raster, grid, TypExperiment, bachelor, jakob runge, font, schrift, typeface, typografie, typography, design, gestaltung, visuell, kommunikation, portfolio

TYpOGRApHie, MAG sie NOCH sO ARMseliG seiN, ist NieMAls selbstVeRstAeNDliCH ODeR AUCH NUR ZUfAelliG. jAN TcHiChOlD

Zeichensatz

Zeichensatz, Glyph, table, Buchstaben, letters, Capitalis Nova, roman, capitalis, Versal, Trajan, Pixel, dot, matrix, raster, grid, TypExperiment, bachelor, jakob runge, font, schrift, typeface, typografie, typography, design, gestaltung, visuell, kommunikation, portfolio

Information & Download

Deine Meinung zu Capitalis Nova