Devion, verdreht, umgekehrt, Minion Pro, Schattenachse, Wechselzug, axis, negative, reverse, kantig, TypExperiment, bachelor, jakob runge, font, schrift, typeface, typografie, typography, design, gestaltung, visuell, kommunikation, portfolio

Teil der »TypExperimente«

concept

Conditioned by a calligraphic procedure ancient Antiqua typefaces have a contrast of stroke, a left-slanted axis and diverse up- and down-strokes of pen. Until today these characteristics of the principle of the unevenly wide feather-stroke are comprised in a lot of typefaces. In 1990 Robert Slimbach combined a lot of historical characteristics into the decent and well legible Garalde typeface »Minion«. Hence of it qualities and a wide distribution through Adobe and Microsoft, today the »Minion« is one of the most commonly used font for continuous text.

Towards the – most familiar – descend left-slanted axis, the »Devion« has an axis which is turned to the right (like an italic):

Minion Pro Minion italic und Devion im Vergleich, optischer Ausgleich, verdreht, umgekehrt, Schattenachse, Wechselzug, axis, negative, reverse, kantig, TypExperiment, bachelor, jakob runge, font, schrift, typeface, typografie, typography, design, gestaltung, visuell, kommunikation, portfolio

Moreover the familiar contrast of stroke is completely mirrored. The resulting typeface at first seems to be familiar and normal, but at second glance it is irritating though its subtle and intended typographical mistakes:

Aufstrich, Abstrich, Devion, verdreht, umgekehrt, Minion Pro, Schattenachse, Wechselzug, axis, negative, reverse, kantig, TypExperiment, bachelor, jakob runge, font, schrift, typeface, typografie, typography, design, gestaltung, visuell, kommunikation, portfolio

With its subtle alterations and characteristics the »Devion« tries to reach the same level as its origin »Minion« which is convincing by pleasant legibility through decent characteristics.

Employing new and more strong calligraphic terminals, a lot of nooks and edges, the uncommon right-slanted axis plus the negative feather-stroke, the »Devion« gains self-reliance.

The most popular typefaces are the easiest to read; their popularity has made them disappear from conscious cognition. It becomes impossible to tell if they are easy to read because they are commonly used, or if they are commonly used because they are easy to read. Zuzana Licko

character set

Zeichensatz, Glyph, table, Buchstaben, letters, Devion, verdreht, umgekehrt, Minion Pro, Schattenachse, Wechselzug, axis, negative, reverse, kantig, TypExperiment, bachelor, jakob runge, font, schrift, typeface, typografie, typography, design, gestaltung, visuell, kommunikation, portfolio

Information & Download

one comment

  1. Shun Tsuiki, on

    Hi.
    I’m Shun Tsuiki from Japan.
    I want to use this font Devion for my business card.
    What a great.
    What a beautiful.
    Can I use it?
    How to do?

Comment Devion

Devion, verdreht, umgekehrt, Minion Pro, Schattenachse, Wechselzug, axis, negative, reverse, kantig, TypExperiment, bachelor, jakob runge, font, schrift, typeface, typografie, typography, design, gestaltung, visuell, kommunikation, portfolio

Teil der »TypExperimente«

Konzept

Bedingt durch die kalligrafische Arbeitsweise findet sich in den frühen Antiquaschriften ein Strichstärkenkontrast, die linksgeneigte Schattenachse und die unterschiedlich dicken Auf- und Abstriche. Bis heute sind die Formmerkmale des Prinzips der ungleich breiten Feder in vielen Schriften enthalten. Die 1990 von Robert Slimbach gestaltete französische Renaissance-Antiqua »Minion« vereint viele historische Formen zu einem dezenten und sehr ausgeglichenen Schriftbild. Wegen ihrer Eigenschaften und der großflächigen Verbreitung durch Adobe und Microsoft ist die Minion heute eine der meistgenutzten Brotschriften für Fließtexte geworden.

Entgegen der – für die meisten Leser gewohneten – leicht nach links geneigten Schattenachse hat die »Devion« eine rechtsgeneigte Achse:

Minion Pro Minion italic und Devion im Vergleich, optischer Ausgleich, verdreht, umgekehrt, Schattenachse, Wechselzug, axis, negative, reverse, kantig, TypExperiment, bachelor, jakob runge, font, schrift, typeface, typografie, typography, design, gestaltung, visuell, kommunikation, portfolio

Zudem ist der vertraute Strichstärkenkontrast in den Auf- und Abstrichen gespiegelt werden. Die entstehende Schrift erscheint zunächst bekannt und normal, irritiert aber durch ihre dezenten, beabsichtigten Fehler:

Aufstrich, Abstrich, Devion, verdreht, umgekehrt, Minion Pro, Schattenachse, Wechselzug, axis, negative, reverse, kantig, TypExperiment, bachelor, jakob runge, font, schrift, typeface, typografie, typography, design, gestaltung, visuell, kommunikation, portfolio

Mit subtilen Änderungen und Merkmalen bewegt die »Devion« sich auf gleicher Ebene wie ihre Ausgangsschrift Minion, die mit Rücksicht auf die angenehme Lesbarkeit durch dezente Formmerkmale überzeugt.
Durch neue und kräftigere kalligrafische Abstrichen, vielen Ecken und Kanten, der ungewöhnlichen rechtsgeneigten Schattenachse sowie dem negativen Wechselzug der Feder gewinnt die »Devion« an Eigenständigkeit.

Die populärsten Schriftarten sind die am einfachsten zu lesenden; ihre Popularität lässt sie aus der bewussten Wahrnehmung verschwinden. Es ist daher unmöglich geworden, zu sagen ob ihre häufige Verwendung sie lesbar erscheinen lässt, oder ob sie in Anbetracht ihrer Lesbarkeit häufig verwendet werden. Zuzana Licko

Zeichensatz

Zeichensatz, Glyph, table, Buchstaben, letters, Devion, verdreht, umgekehrt, Minion Pro, Schattenachse, Wechselzug, axis, negative, reverse, kantig, TypExperiment, bachelor, jakob runge, font, schrift, typeface, typografie, typography, design, gestaltung, visuell, kommunikation, portfolio

Information & Download

Ein Kommentar

  1. Shun Tsuiki, am

    Hi.
    I’m Shun Tsuiki from Japan.
    I want to use this font Devion for my business card.
    What a great.
    What a beautiful.
    Can I use it?
    How to do?

Deine Meinung zu Devion