Concept

Together with two fellow students, I created the typeface draft Spigolo during the Spoleto Summer School in 2011. The experiment quickly turned out to be a failure. Nonetheless, I liked some details in it so much, that it led to the idea for a new transitional antiqua: unbracket serifs, wide curves and a closed, round character for literary texts. I started working on Falun in Professor Gertrud Nolte’s class 26+ZeichenSetzen.SchriftEntwurf in 2012.
The openings of the counters as in c or e are rather small, due to the beaks extending deeply into the counters and the lower terminals reaching up far. Closed letter-forms determine the overall appearance of the typeface. Deep seated crotches as in n or r enable the shoulders to run long. Since the upper case letters are defined by less arches than the lowercase ones, the typefaces appears considerably more angular in pure capitalisation.

Name

Falun is the location of E. T. A. Hoffmann’s story “Die Bergwerke zu Falun” (“The Mines of Falun”) from the collection “Die Serapionsbrüder” (“The Serapion Brethren”). The collected stories are presented as unfinished drafts, which are read to each other by the members of a literary circle, who then discuss the particular work constructively. The radio play accompanied some labour-intensive days. The discussions of the Serapion Brethren after one of them read out “Die Bergwerke zu Falun” reminded me a little of our course meetings and Falun, which I had initially chosen as an interims title, remained.

Characteristics

In the beginning, it was difficult to find a coherent shape for the serifs at the baseline of the Italic style, which is only barely developed yet. Eventually, I decided to bring the characteristics of the Regular style forward to the Italic. The legs of the stems, which usually end in a calligraphic push upwards, terminate with an unbracket serif in Falun.

In Progress


Falun is in a developing stage. Beneath other weights I am working on extending the character set to include the Greek and Cyrillic alphabet. The current state allows to set Russian. A whole set of diacritic marks as well as localised forms for the Serbian alphabet are currently missing. Before approaching that issue, I will implement a slew of corrections Alexei Vanyashin gave me.

Character Set

Konzept

Während der Spoleto Summer School 2011 entstand zusammen mit zwei Kommilitoninnen der Schriftentwurf Spigolo. Das Experiment stellte sich schnell als gescheitert heraus. Einige Details darin gefielen mir allerdings so gut, dass ich daraus die Idee zu einer neuen Übergangs-Antiqua entwickelte: Ungekehlte Serifen, weite Kurven und ein geschlossener, runder Charakter für literarische Texte. Mit der Arbeit an der Falun begann ich 2012 im Kurs 26+ZeichenSetzen.SchriftEntwurf von Professorin Gertrud Nolte.
Durch die weit in Binnenformen reichenden Abschlüsse und nach oben gezogenen unteren Ausläufe sind die Öffnungen der Punzen wie beim c oder e eher schmal. Die so entstehenden geschlossenen Buchstabenformen prägen den Gesamteindruck der Schrift. Tief sitzende, kantig angeschlossene Einläufe, wie bei n oder r ermöglichen weit laufende Schultern. Da die Majuskeln insgesamt durch weniger Bögen definiert werden als die Minuskeln, wirkt die Schrift in reiner Großschreibweise deutlich kantiger.

Name

Falun ist der Schauplatz von E. T. A. Hoffmanns Erzählung »Die Bergwerke zu Falun« aus der Sammlung »Die Serapionsbrüder«. Die dort gesammelten Geschichten werden als unfertige Entwürfe präsentiert, welche sich die Mitglieder eines literarischen Kreises vortragen und das jeweilige Werk konstruktiv kritisieren. Das Hörspiel begleitete einige besonders arbeitsintensive Tage. Die Besprechungen der Serapionsbrüder erinnerten mich ein wenig an unsere Kurstreffen und das zunächst nur als Übergangstitel gewählte Falun blieb bestehen.

Besonderheiten

Bei dem noch wenig ausgebauten Italic-Schnitt war es anfangs schwierig, eine stimmige Serifenform an der Grundlinie zu finden. Letztendlich entschloss ich mich, die Charakteristiken des aufrechten Schnitts dort zu übertragen. Die gewöhnlich kalligrafisch nach oben gezogen Ausläufe an den Stämmen werden in der Falun mit einem ungekehlten Endstrich abgeschlossen.

Entwurfsprozess


Die Falun befindet sich im Entwicklungsstadium. Neben weiteren Schriftschnitten arbeite ich daran, den Zeichensatz um das griechische und kyrillische Alphabet zu erweitern. Mit dem derzeitigen Stand kann man zwar bereits Russisch setzen. Allerdings fehlen noch eine ganze Reihe diakritischer Zeichen sowie Alternativbuchstaben für das serbische Alphabet. Zunächst gilt es jedoch eine Reihe Korrekturen umzusetzen, die mir Alexei Vanyashin gegeben hat.

Zeichensatz